Poesie Perfume: The 1928 Collection

Poesie Perfumes is one of the newer perfumeries on the block. Ms. Joelle’s inaugural collection is The 1928 Collection. All scents are offered in the form of perfume oil, bead oil, body lotion, body whip, and shower gel. I purchased samples of the entire collection of perfume oils, except The Aviation, which I received as a free sample. My orders have been entirely perfume oils, and my free samples both times were perfume oils that were not in my order history. Shipping was lighting fast for my first order, which was shortly after the store opened. Shipping for the second order was faster than the stated turn around time. Both times, Joelle sent a personal email when my order shipped, and both times my order arrived earlier than her estimate. I know the actual mail is beyond her control, but it’s worth mentioning since some indies have delays due to their local post offices.

When my samples arrived, I smelled all the vials and had a mildly panickly moment. I realized that I had no vocabulary to describe any of them. They’re all so… perfumey! But like different kinds of perfumes, but I don’t even know the words, so how am I going to describe this to myself, let alone to anyone who reads this basic blog? The indie perfumes I’d tried before this were so unlike what I knew of perfume. Notes that I understand, like dirt and chocolate and coffee and smoke and pumpkins or whatever. Things that are unusual in a perfume, but common in life. Poesie’s 1928 Collection has very little of that. It made the collection somewhat intimidating. They sat in my drawer for a couple months, looking elegant and classy and challenging. Every now and then I opened one to sniff, and loved it but couldn’t identify what I was smelling, so I’d put it back and go back to my simpler scents. At long last, I have worked my way through Poesie’s 1928 collection and it is divine.
wpid-20150811_161404.jpg

Aurora sparkling citrus, effervescent cucumber, vanilla woods

It’s bright and tangy like you’d expect from citrus and effervescence, but I can’t pick out any citrus or cucumber. I don’t get enough straight vanilla to recommend this to someone just because they like vanilla, it’s in there. It’s definitely “vanilla woods” as described, and not woodsy vanilla. The wood isn’t a particular wood like cedar or sandalwood or pine or anything, just general woodiness – a little sweet and a little juicy with some smooth vanilla influence that feminizes it. Unlike other woodsy scents I’ve smelled so far, this smells like a woodsy perfume, as opposed to smelling like actual wood.

Buttoned Down smoky vetiver, juicy bergamot, herbaceous lavender, cedarwood (unisex)

Non-sweet non-laundry lavender, plus cedarwood. I’m still figuring out what vetiver smells like, so I’m no help there. I don’t really get much bergamot from this. Something in it throws wafts of powderyness every now and then.

Fan Dance sugar-dusted tart raspberries, vanilla bean

This runs back and forth between sugary sweet berries with vanilla cream, and actual tangy raspberries with a bit of vanilla sugar. Eventually the raspberry settles down and it’s more of a berry-infused melty vanilla ice cream.

Femme Dangereuse powdery iris, exotic spices, and skin-warmed leather driving gloves

Yes. All of these things. Femme Dengereuse sounds like something that would defy description, but Joelle nailed it. It smells exactly like she said it would. Before reading the description, I was able to identify three main scents (spices, a specific powdery floral that I couldn’t identify, and a particular kind of leather) that blended well without dominating each other on my skin.

La Jeunesse juicy apple, tea rose, and freshly cut grass

Initially it does smell fresh and grassy. Slowly, the rose comes to the forefront. In my admittedly very limited experience, I don’t care for most flowery perfumes. They all smell like perfume and not like flowers, and it’s such a confusing disappointment. The rose in La Jeunesse is one of the most enjoyable florals I’ve come across so far. It’s essentially what I was hoping all of the spring floral scents would be – light, fresh, youthful yet classy, flowery without being perfumy. There are hints of green scents and powdery floral notes, but (happily) they never quite materialize.

Luxor warm spices, wafts of incense smoke, creamy sandalwood (unisex)

Warm and cozy and woody. I’m not typically a fan of sandalwood, but this fragrance has it growing on me. It makes me think of the woody smell of a steam room. It’s not incense and it’s not actual spices, it’s warm fragrant wood. And it’s not like a gym steam room, it’s out in the woods, in winter, at camp or at someone’s cabin – warm and cozy and relaxing and wintery.

Mrs. B’s Teacakes honeyed almond, luscious vanilla, orange zest, spices, black tea

This is not-too-sweet madeleine cakes. Sweet but not really sugary, the way that shortbread cookies taste after eating frosted sugar cookies. I don’t quiiiite smell tea. Or maybe possibly I do after a while, and it’s neutralizing the sweetness of the honey and keeping this from being a sugary sweet scent? The spice in this stung when applied right under my nose, but it was fine on my arms, wrists, and chest. Sometimes fragrances like this leave me wanting to drink the bottle or leave me feeling like I am an actual dessert. This is simply a charmingly sweet and wearable scent.

Tempting Lollies sweet orange, banana candy, bright mint, sugared coffee

Makes me think of glass bowls of pretty old hard candy. The kind of candy with colorful wrappers and different colored candies, and it looks like something that would taste like candy, but it’s really not great. You eat it because you’re stuck here in this living room while the adults do their annual reminiscing. What else is there to do but wait and eat old candy. Maybe you’ve been trapped in this living room so long that this is just what candy tastes like now. How long have the grown-ups been talking? Maybe years have passed, who can even tell? Anyway, it’s those candies. Colored sugar, and a variety of “candy” flavors.

The Aviation candied violets, spicy juniper, freshly squeezed lemon juice, and a hint of cherry

The Aviation is the name of an actual gin-based cocktail. I strongly dislike gin (which is flavored with juniper), so naturally I have never tried the drink and I had low expectations for this fragrance. When first applied, it’s interesting. I don’t even know what it is – probably the various sweet scents plus tangy lemon. Sweet and interesting and new, just like drinking a brand-new-to-you cocktail. As it dries, the violets become prominent. They’re more sweet and less powdery than what I expect for violets. Soon the juniper takes center stage, and it’s not terrible. It’s not something I love, obviously, but it’s objectively good. If you like gin or juniper at all, I 100% recommend The Aviation, and I assume this smells like a truly delicious gin cocktail. After it fades, if I sniff right where it was applied, it smells like a slightly boozy maraschino cherry. How perfect is that?

Fragrances are available in bottles of 2mL ($4.50), 5mL ($14), 9mL ($20), or sample sets of three 2mL bottles ($12).

Leave a Reply

