Empties April 2016

Alright, for real, finally, here are all my April empties. As before, they have all been added to my Empties Archive, or will be added before my next Empties post.

  1. Missha Perfect Cover BB Cream No. 13 foil – For my fourth of five foils, I did a few comparison applications. I applied this on half my face, and Armani Luminous Silk 3.75 on the other half. I knew Missha 13 was pale, but I didn’t realize quite how pale. It’s too pale. Compared to something that’s very very slightly too dark and the closest I’ve come to cool/pink enough, the Missha looks ridiculous. It would be great as a “highlight” foundation, something that’s too pale for me and can be used as a contour. It’s certainly wearable with enough blush and bronzer, but when compared to something that’s MUCH closer to my actual skin tone, it looks ridiculous. Lesson learned: wearing pale makeup does not necessarily mean that you are actually the palest. It’s so much more likely that you’re wearing something the wrong tone (i.e. too orange or too pink or too yellow)
  2. Guerlain Maxi Lash sample – Looks nice but smudges real real bad.
  3. Mor Cosmetics Lip Macaroon French Vanilla –
  4. Korres Greek Yoghurt Foaming Cream Cleanser foil – Foamy indeed. This is fine, whatev, no strong feelings about it.
  5. MOR Cosmetics Basil & Grape Hand & Body Wash – I didn’t realize that this was a body wash until the last inch of the bottle. The grape is a nice fresh grape, not a kool-aid or candy grape, and I’m sad that it’s gone. I think I prefer it as a hand soap though. It foams alright but doesn’t really create any lasting lather and it rinses away a little too quickly.
  6. Tocca Isabel foil – rose-ish and fresh-ish but ultimately bland. I don’t know if it’s alcohol-based perfumes that are underwhelming to me, or foils, or just coincidence of what I’ve been trying lately.
  7. Maison Martin Margiela Replica Beach Walk foil – Finally, finally, I experienced that beachiness that everyone else raves about. Was it the samples I had? Did my nose just take a full …three(?) years to be fully accustomed to this scent? idgi
  8. Maison Martin Margiela Replica Beach Walk foil – I guess it’s good now.
  9. Julep Brilliance Glycolic Hand & Body Scrub – Another victim of Julep’s unofficial “Great products in crap packaging” campaign. Something in the scrub formed a clump and clogged up the tube. I stood on it, I jumped on it, I could not unplug the plug. Eventually I cut it open and finished off the whole thing. I like scrubs in tube packaging because it’s easier than unscrewing a jar in the shower, but this tube is not good. I can’t decide if this is worth repurchasing or not.
  10. Clinique Pep-Start Eye Cream foil – No complaints, no strong feelings one way or the other.
  11. Living proof. Perfect Hair Day Shampoo foil –
  12. Living proof. Perfect Hair Day Conditioner foil –
  13. Living proof. Perfect Hair Day Style Extender foil –
  14. Amika Nourishing Mask giant size –
  15. Ojon Rare Blend Oil Moisture Therapy deluxe sample –
  16. June Jacobs Perfect Pumpkin Enzyme Polish – This is expensive and slightly harsher than I prefer for a facial scrub, but I still love it. It works well and omg the scent! I haven’t found anything that comes remotely close. I could justify repurchasing it since one tube lasted me over a year and a half… But on the other hand, it’s paraben and preservative-free, and I don’t feel entirely comfortable with a face product sitting around that long without any preservatives. I don’t want my face products growing mold, you know?
  17. Clarins UV Plus Anti-Pollution SPF 50 Sunscreen deluxe sample –
  18. Caudalie Instant Detox Mask foil – My skin didn’t freak out as much this time but I only used a tiny bit at a time and moisturized the heck out of my face after. Underwhelming.
  19. Malin + Goetz Clarifying Clay Mask deluxe sample –
  20. IPKN New York Wrinkle-Care Snail 8 Mask sheet mask –
  21. CVS Sun Lotion Broad Spectrum SPF 50 – You know, sunscreen. It smells, sheers out, feels kind of greasy all day, and prevents sunburn. Just regular old sunscreen.
  22. Marvis Aquatic Mint Toothpaste travel size – Ugh this is the gross kind of mint. This is the kind of mint that makes brushing my teeth a struggle. I don’t know what kind of mint it is. It’s not peppermint or spearmint. Toothmint?
  23. TOSSED:
  24. My Daughter Fragrances – Always Loved sample vial  – see birchbox review
  25. Lorac Lipliner #18 – I bought this because I thought it would be a perfect match for outlining my lips. It’s close but not close enough. It’s also really really drying. I gave it a good long chance to impress me (like,  two and a half years?), and it’s time to move on.
  26. Julep Blank Canvas Plumping Lip Primer
  27. Stila In The Light eye shadow palette sampler card
Leave a Reply

